SeoMap vs. Whitespark: Local Ranking Grids Compared
Both charge exactly one credit per grid point, and both turn a Google Maps search into a heatmap. Whitespark's Local Ranking Grids is the cheaper way in — from $10/month for 2,000 credits — with top-100 ranking depth per point, daily scheduling and a free setup transfer. SeoMap costs more per credit but ships the analysis layer around the grid: ARP, ATRP and SoLV on every scan, top-20 point detail, ranking history, per-point scan deltas, a read-only API on every plan, grids up to 21×21, and a German UI built for the DACH market.
Last updated: 6 September 2026| Feature | SeoMap | Whitespark |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing & credits | ||
| Entry-level plan | From €29/month (Starter, 3,000 credits) | From $10/month (Base, 2,000 credits); Standard $20/5,000, Professional $50/15,000, plus a higher custom tier2 |
| Price per credit at the entry tier | About €0.01 per credit (€29 ÷ 3,000) | $0.005 per credit ($10 ÷ 2,000) — cheaper per point |
| Credit model | Flat: 1 credit = 1 grid point (queue), 3 credits live. No add-on charges. | Flat: "Each grid point costs 1 credit to scan." |
| Free trial | 500 free credits, no card required | 200 free credits, no card required |
| Unused credits | Expire at the end of the month, no rollover | "Unused credits expire after each billing period" |
| Annual billing | About 17% cheaper than monthly (two months free) | Not publicly stated |
| Pre-scan cost control | Cost estimate shown before every scan, plus a hard daily budget cap | Not publicly stated |
| Core metrics | ||
| ARP (Average Rank Position) | Average position across the points where the business is found | Not publicly stated |
| ATRP (Average Total Rank Position) | Average that includes not-found points — the honest number | Not publicly stated |
| SoLV (Share of Local Voice) | Percentage of scanned grid points with a top-3 placement1 | Not publicly stated |
| Ranking depth per grid point | Top 20 at every point, with ratings, review count and ad flag | "Track to 100" — up to 100 ranking positions and up to 100 competitors at every grid point |
| Ranking history over time | Trend chart per project + keyword across every historical scan (ARP/ATRP/SoLV) | "Versus mode" compares any two grids side by side; a multi-scan trend chart isn't described on the product page |
| Scanning | ||
| Grid size range | 5×5 to 21×21 (up to 441 points), custom point spacing | 4 to 225 points (2×2 to 15×15); spacing options not stated |
| Grid shapes | Square or circular | Not publicly stated |
| Desktop / mobile | Desktop or mobile per scan | Not publicly stated |
| Live scan rendering | A 13×13 scan (169 points) finishes in under 3 minutes; the map fills in point-by-point while it runs | Not publicly stated |
| Business matching | Exact match via Google CID/Place-ID — no fuzzy name matching | Not publicly stated |
| Competitor view | Competitors ranked by top-3 share; click one to highlight its points on the map, plus a sparkline across past scans | "Plot competitor locations" — every competitor's location on the map, up to 100 competitors analysed per point |
| Scan comparison | Two scans side by side with a delta per point (improved / worse / new / lost); warns when configurations aren't comparable — Pro plan and up | "Versus mode" — compare any two grids side by side |
| Reporting & sharing | ||
| Public share links | Yes — public link, no login, no account data exposed | Yes — live, shareable URLs for any grid, business or group |
| Report export | One click: heatmap, ARP/ATRP/SoLV and the competitor table in one report; grid points and the competitor table also export as CSV | CSV or PDF, plus a one-click "pixel perfect" screenshot |
| White-label reports | Agency and Internal plans only — custom logo and company name on report exports and public share links | White-label shareable URLs (plan requirements not stated) |
| Automated scan analysis | Rule-based observations plus a short, clearly labeled AI paragraph after every scan — included | Not publicly stated |
| Google Search Console import | One click: projects created, top queries of the last 90 days pre-filled as keywords | Not publicly stated |
| Scale & integrations | ||
| Scheduled / recurring scans | Weekly or monthly, per project + keyword — same credit/budget checks as a manual scan | Daily, weekly or monthly, "at any time of day", plus ad-hoc scans |
| Cross-project report | Sortable table across multiple projects and keywords (latest scan each), filterable by tag, CSV export | Share URLs exist per grid, business or group; a cross-grid comparison table isn't described on the product page |
| API access | Yes — read-only REST API (projects, scans, grid points), self-managed keys, included on every plan | Not publicly stated |
| Migration help | No automated import — relink each business and run a baseline scan | Free setup transfer on any paid plan: "we'll transfer your setup for you – no charge" |
| Scope & market focus | ||
| Product scope | One product: Google Maps geo-grid rank tracking3 | Local Ranking Grids is one product in a family: Local Platform (GBP management), Local Rank Tracker, Local Citation Finder, Reputation Builder and SEO services3 |
| Interface & regional focus | German UI, built for DACH local SEO | English-first, Canada-based, global scope |
- SeoMap's SoLV (Share of Local Voice) is the percentage of scanned grid points where the business ranks in the top 3. A similarly named metric, SoLV®, is a registered trademark of Local Falcon, LLC (USPTO Serial No. 90372578) — a different vendor that isn't part of this comparison. SeoMap's metric is calculated independently; Whitespark's product page doesn't publish a share-of-voice figure at all.
- Whitespark's highest Local Ranking Grids tier is a slider. Two reads of the product page on the same day (2026-09-06) showed different steps — $100/32,000+ credits and $200+/65,000+ credits — so only the fixed tiers are quoted here. Annual pricing for Local Ranking Grids wasn't shown on the page. Re-verify before relying on either figure.
- Whitespark sells two separate rank-tracking products: Local Rank Tracker (one point per keyword and location — not a geo-grid, from $17/month) and Local Ranking Grids (the geo-grid app, priced per credit). Every Whitespark figure on this page refers to Local Ranking Grids only.
Who each tool is for
Whitespark is a broad local-SEO vendor — its homepage promises “everything you need for better local SEO” and says it’s trusted by over 150K users — and Local Ranking Grids is the geo-grid product inside that family, sitting next to Google Business Profile management, a classic rank tracker, a citation finder, a reputation tool and paid SEO services. If you want one vendor for the whole local-SEO stack and a cheap, no-frills heatmap as part of it, that’s the fit.
SeoMap does one thing: Google Maps geo-grid rank tracking for local-SEO agencies, freelancers and sales teams who need a heatmap that closes a pitch or proves a result, plus multi-location businesses watching their own visibility — most of it in German, for the DACH market. There’s no citation builder, no review management and no GBP editing; the whole product is built around the scan and what you can read off it.
Pricing: the same credit unit, a different entry price
This is the rare comparison where the credit model is identical. Whitespark’s product page says it verbatim — “Each grid point costs 1 credit to scan” — and SeoMap works the same way: 1 credit per grid point on a queue scan (3 per point live), no scan packages, no multipliers. A 5×5 scan is 25 credits, a 7×7 is 49, a 13×13 is 169, in either tool. Both also let unused credits expire at the end of the billing period, so neither has a rollover advantage.
The entry price is not identical, and Whitespark wins it. Its Base plan is $10/month for 2,000 credits, Standard is $20 for 5,000, Professional $50 for 15,000 — roughly half a cent per point at the bottom, a third of a cent higher up. SeoMap’s Starter is €29/month for 3,000 credits, about one cent per point, with Pro at €79 for 12,000 and Agency at €199 for 40,000. Whitespark’s top tier is a slider whose exact step read differently on two fetches of the same page, so it isn’t quoted here (see footnote 2); annual pricing for the grid product wasn’t shown at all. SeoMap’s annual billing is about 17% cheaper than monthly — two months free. On free credits, SeoMap starts you with 500 and Whitespark with 200, neither asking for a card.
Where SeoMap adds something the price page can’t show: a cost estimate before every scan and a hard daily budget cap, so a 21×21 scan never surprises you. Whitespark’s page publishes the per-point price but doesn’t mention a pre-scan estimate or a daily limit — that’s an unknown, not a no.
Metrics: what each tool tells you after the scan
A heatmap answers “where am I visible?” at a glance. The numbers next to it answer “how much did that change?” — and this is where the two products diverge most clearly on what’s published. SeoMap reports three figures on every scan: ARP (average position across the points where the business is found), ATRP (the same average with not-found points included — the honest number to put in front of a client) and SoLV (the share of grid points with a top-3 placement). Those three are tracked as a trend chart across every historical scan per project and keyword, and a scan comparison shows the delta at every single point — improved, worse, new or lost — with a warning when two scans’ configurations aren’t comparable.
Whitespark’s Local Ranking Grids page, as of 2026-09-06, doesn’t name a summary metric at all — no average rank, no share-of-voice figure. That’s not a claim that the product lacks one; it’s what’s publicly stated, and the table marks it accordingly. What the page does emphasise is depth: “Track to 100” means up to 100 ranking positions and up to 100 competitors at every grid point, against SeoMap’s top 20 per point. If you need to know who sits at position 47 in a suburb, Whitespark goes further. Its “Versus mode” also compares any two grids side by side, which is the same job as SeoMap’s scan comparison — minus the per-point delta labels that SeoMap adds.
Where Whitespark goes further
The honest list is real. Whitespark’s entry price per credit is about half of SeoMap’s. Its grid tracks 100 positions per point where SeoMap stops at 20. Its scheduler runs daily, weekly or monthly at any time of day, while SeoMap’s recurring scans are weekly or monthly. It plots every competitor’s location on the map, produces a one-click “pixel perfect” screenshot next to CSV and PDF exports, and offers white-label shareable URLs without any plan requirement stated on the page — SeoMap’s white-label branding is limited to the Agency and Internal plans. And if you’re coming from another tool, Whitespark will transfer your setup for free on any paid plan; SeoMap has no automated import. If those are the criteria that matter to you, Whitespark is the stronger pick on them.
Where SeoMap goes further
SeoMap’s case is the analysis layer and the scan itself. ARP, ATRP and SoLV are on every scan, with ranking history over time and per-point deltas between scans — none of which Whitespark’s product page publishes. Grids run up to 21×21 (441 points) against Whitespark’s 225-point maximum, in square or circular shape with custom spacing, on desktop or mobile, and a 13×13 scan finishes in under three minutes with the heatmap filling in point by point as it runs. Businesses are matched by their exact Google CID/Place-ID rather than by name, which matters where duplicate business names are common — three different “Fahrschule Müller” listings in Cologne alone is the standing example. Google Search Console connects with one click and pre-fills the last 90 days of top queries as keywords.
Around the grid: every scan gets rule-based observations plus a short, clearly labeled AI paragraph at no extra cost; a cross-project report lines up multiple locations and keywords in one sortable, taggable table; and a read-only REST API is included on every plan, not just the top one. The whole product — interface included — is built in German for agencies and businesses working the DACH market, rather than as a regional option inside an English-first product.
The honest take
If you want the cheapest credible geo-grid heatmap, or you need 100 positions of depth per point, daily scheduling and a vendor that also handles citations and GBP management, Whitespark’s Local Ranking Grids is a fair choice and costs less to start. If what you need is the number behind the heatmap — ARP, ATRP and SoLV tracked over time, per-point deltas that prove a result, exact business matching, a hard budget cap and a German interface for DACH clients — that’s the problem SeoMap set out to solve, and it charges about twice as much per credit for it. Start with 500 free credits and run a real scan on a business you know before deciding either way.
Frequently asked questions
Is Whitespark's Local Ranking Grids the same thing as its Local Rank Tracker?
No. Local Rank Tracker tracks one point per keyword and location (a coordinate, a postal code or the city centre) on Google and Bing — a classic rank tracker, not a heatmap. Local Ranking Grids is the geo-grid product that scans up to 225 points around a business and is priced per credit. This page compares SeoMap with Local Ranking Grids only.
Which is cheaper, SeoMap or Whitespark?
Per credit, Whitespark: its Base plan is $10/month for 2,000 credits ($0.005 per point), while SeoMap's Starter is €29/month for 3,000 credits (about €0.01 per point). Both charge one credit per grid point, so a 7×7 scan costs 49 credits in either tool. What SeoMap's higher price buys is the layer around the grid — ARP, ATRP and SoLV on every scan, top-20 point detail, ranking history, per-point scan deltas and a read-only API on every plan. If you only need the heatmap, Whitespark is the cheaper entry point.
Does Whitespark show ARP, ATRP or a share-of-voice figure?
Not that its product page states. As of 2026-09-06, whitespark.ca/local-ranking-grids/ describes grid sizes, top-100 depth, competitor plotting, Versus mode, scheduling and exports, but doesn't name a summary metric like average rank or share of voice. That's why those rows read "not publicly stated" — it's not a claim that the feature is missing, only that it isn't published.
Can I switch from Whitespark to SeoMap?
There's no automated import from Whitespark today. You'd relink each business via its Google listing (or import it from Search Console) and start a fresh baseline scan — the same one-time setup as any new project. Worth knowing for the other direction: Whitespark offers a free setup transfer on any of its paid plans.
Which one is better for agencies in Germany or the wider DACH market?
That's SeoMap's focus: a German-language interface and a product built around DACH local-SEO workflows, with exact Google CID/Place-ID matching that matters where duplicate business names are common. Whitespark is a Canadian, English-first vendor with a global scope. If your clients and reports need to be in German by default, that's the practical difference.